I have lived and worked in Canada’s north for most of my adult life, including northern British Columbia, the NWT, Nunavut, and Yukon.

I earned both a Bachelor of Arts degree with a double major in English/Creative Writing and a Master of Arts degree in English Literature from the University of Victoria. I worked full-time as an instructor of literature and writing on behalf of Athabasca University and the University of Saskatchewan at several campuses of Aurora College in the NWT before becoming an Instructor/Coordinator at Yukon College in Whitehorse in 2011.

I hold post-degree Certificates in Adult Education and Teaching English as a Second Language from the University of Manitoba.  I have also studied at Malaspina College (now Vancouver Island University), the University of Alberta, the Northern Alberta Institute of Technology, and Douglas College.

At Yukon University, I have served as an Instructor of English in the School of LIberal Arts, Instructor/Coordinator of both the Carcross and Whitehorse Correctional Centre campuses, Instructor/Coordinator of the HomeSmart Program, Instructor/Coordinator of Innovation and Technology in the Communities and Innovation Division, Chair of the School of Academic and Skill Development, and Acting Chair of the School of Liberal Arts.

I have been writing and performing for over twenty years in a variety of media ranging from live theatre to video to the web.  My playwriting has been presented professionally at the Northern Arts and Culture Centre in Yellowknife and by Gwaandak Theatre at the Magnetic North Theatre Festival.  I have also toured several of my one-man shows and other productions to nineteen Fringe Theatre festivals all over Canada.  I also wrote, directed, and produced a 40-minute documentary entitled Arm-Smashed-Up Buffalo Walk: A Solo Hike Through Wood Buffalo National Park.

I love backpacking, cycle touring, kayaking, and other outdoor activities.  I am a parent, step-parent, and foster parent with my wife Carrie.  We live on an acreage in Mount Lorne, where we enjoy birdwatching and gardening.