Apr. 2, 2017

Hi everyone,

March has come and gone, so it seems like a good time for a dean's update. Let's get to it:

1. Institutional Re-alignment: As some of you might have already heard by now, the College will be re-aligning a number of units, effective July 1, 2017. Units and employees most directly affected by these changes were notified the week of Mar. 13th. A College-wide communication is being prepared right now, so stay tuned. If you have any questions in the meantime, feel free to send them my way by email or stop by for a chat.

2. Online Registration: If you missed the lunchtime talk on Mar. 31 about the online registration project, this is just a heads up that online registration is, indeed, coming this spring. For all program advisors (that's basically all of our perm/term faculty) there will be a training component on new program advising software. The Office of the Registrar will be coordinating the training, so please pay attention to all communications on the topic. The roll-out will be very measured, with opportunities for students in particular programs to do early bird, guided online registration.

3. Goodbyes: As I mentioned in an email some time ago, we will be saying farewell to two faculty members this spring. This past Friday we said a kind of goodbye to Tina Jules. Tina is soon to become the Yukon Native Language Centre's new director. She will be in that role on a 2-year secondment. The great thing is that the YNLC is just down the hallway, so she isn't getting rid of us that easily! The other faculty member departing is Jeslyn MacDonald, our Practical Nursing clinical instructor. Jeslyn and her family are heading back to Nova Scotia. We're going to miss her immensely, but we also wish her well on the best coast.

4. SOVA News: The SOVA end-of-year exhibition will be happening on Apr. 28. If you're planning to be in Dawson around that date, please consider checking out the exhibition. Also, I will be heading to Dawson on Apr. 11 with Karen Barnes for a SOVA Governance Council with the Minister of Education.